Young Ontario cricketers to tour Sri Lanka

By Admin Wednesday February 04 2015 in Sports
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (3)
Loading ... Loading ...


The Ontario Cricket Academy & Club (OCAC) will tour Sri Lanka for the second time in four years.


The local team has extended an invitation to the Bermuda Cricket Association to send four young players on the tour, which will be held from March 13-23.


Former Canadian cricketer, Derek Perera, who started the academy in 2002, said the decision to include the Bermudans was triggered by his friendship with that island’s former all-rounder, Sam Robinson.


“We have a good relationship and we thought it would be good for some of their youths to get some international exposure,” said Perera.


Robinson’s nephew – Russell Richardson, who is Bermuda’s Under-19 team manager – will accompany the team on the tour that includes seven 50-overs matches.


The team will play three matches in Colombo and two each in Kandy and Galle.


National Under-17 captain Abraash Khan will captain the squad that includes Rohan Kundlass, Kishan Balgobin, Irfan Ali, Darius Dalal, Pawan Gill, Emanuel Khokhar, Nauman Zafar and Bermudans Cameron Jeffers, Chare Smith, Antoine Seaman and Sheldon Caesar.


In addition to touring Sri Lanka, the academy has visited Trinidad & Tobago on four occasions.


The OCAC fielded teams in the Toronto & District Cricket Association (TDCA) elite, first and third division competitions last year. They recently merged with Overseas to field a side in the premier league this season.


“The merger was done so we could bridge a gap by providing those players who are not good to play in the elite division or are looking for a break above the first division with an opportunity to compete in the division a step down or a step up,” said Perera.


Meanwhile, the players in the Greater Toronto Area selected to prepare for the Americas Under-19 competition in Bermuda in July took part in their first practice session last Sunday.


Canada, the United States, Suriname and the host country will participate in the 50-overs tournament from July 4-10. The winner will advance to the 2016 Youth World Cup in Bangladesh next year.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>