Recount of ballots confirms PNP’s return to power

By Admin Wednesday November 14 2012 in Caribbean
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading ... Loading ...


GRAND TURK: A recount on Monday of paper ballots from parliamentary elections in the Turks & Caicos Islands (TCI) confirmed no changes from the provisional tally.


The recount established that the Progressive National Party (PNP) won eight of the 15 Parliament seats in last Friday’s elections. The PNP will resume local administration of the TCI after three years of direct rule by Britain.


PNP leader, Rufus Ewing, will become the next premier after he is sworn in.


Provisional results announced Saturday showed that Ewing’s party won the election, but People’s Democratic Movement leader, Oswald Skippings, pushed for a recount of the overall vote. He failed to win a seat but his party claimed the remaining seven seats.


As the recount got under way, a mission of eight election observers from the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association and a regional group issued a statement saying the ballots were counted accurately the first time and the voting process was transparent at the islands’ 17 polling stations.


The paper ballots were recounted at a church hall in Grand Turk, the islands’ capital. The ballots had been stored at a police station since the provisional tally was announced Saturday.


According to the government, 84 per cent of the islands’ 7,337 registered voters participated in the elections.


The election came three years after former premier, Michael Misick, stepped down amid allegations of corruption. Britain took control of the islands’ government in August 2009 and launched a corruption inquiry.


Misick, the former leader of the PNP, denied any wrongdoing but is a fugitive who is believed to be living in the Dominican Republic.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>