Opposition PNM wins local elections in T&T

By Admin Wednesday October 23 2013 in Caribbean
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading ... Loading ...


PORT-OF-SPAIN: As of press time, preliminary results in Monday’s local government elections in Trinidad showed the main opposition People’s National Movement (PNM) emerging with 8 of the 14 corporations up for grabs.


Opposition leader Keith Rowley said the results showed that the coalition People’s Partnership government has collapsed and called for a general election.


“The government has collapsed, we are on our way to winning a general election,” said Rowley while addressing PNM supporters. “We have won and we have won handsomely.”


The PNM retained the three corporations it held in the 2010 election and picked up five more, giving it control of eight.


The other parties in the local government elections – the Independent Liberal Party (ILP), the Movement for Social Justice (MSJ) and the New National Vision (NNV), failed to make significant inroads.


However, the ILP, led by former National Security Minister, Austin ‘Jack’ Warner, won at least two council seats.


This is the first time that proportional representation had been used in any election in the twin-island republic. As of press time, final results of the election have not been released.


The coalition suffered defeats in the Tobago House of Assembly poll and the Chaguanas West by-elections this year. It faces an uphill task in the St. Joseph by-election on November 4.


Rowley said the PNM will campaign for the St. Joseph seat that became vacant after former Justice Minister Herbert Volney was stripped of the seat. Volney lost the seat after he informed Speaker of the House Mark Wade that he had resigned from the United National Congress, the biggest partner in the coalition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>