Opposition PNM wins by-election

By Admin Wednesday November 06 2013 in Caribbean
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading ... Loading ...


PORT-OF-SPAIN: The main opposition People’s National Movement (PNM) won the St. Joseph by-election on Monday, handing the ruling coalition People’s Partnership government its fourth consecutive electoral defeat in 2013.
Figures released by the Elections and Boundaries commission show that Terrence Deyalsingh, the PNM candidate, won the by-election, garnering 6,356 votes; Ian Alleyne of the United National Congress (UNC), the leading partner in the People’s Partnership coalition, took second place with 5,577 votes; Om Lalla, the candidate for the newly formed Independent Liberal Party (ILP) trailed with 1,976 votes; independent media personality Errol Fabien won 300 votes and Michael Lopez of the Democratic National Assembly (DNA) received five votes.
A total of 26,891 persons were registered to vote, but only 14,248 voted in Monday’s poll.
The by-election was called after Speaker Wade Mark declared the St. Joseph seat vacant after former High Court judge Herbert Volney announced he had resigned from the party.
The Kamla Persad-Bissessar led People’s Partnership lost the Tobago House of Assembly (THA) polls in January, the by-election in Chaguanas West in July and the local government elections last month.
As a result of Monday’s defeat, the coalition government lost two seats in the 41-seat House of Representatives. It now has a total of 27 seats.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>