Nigeria’s Under-17 coach promoted

By Admin Wednesday February 26 2014 in Sports
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading ... Loading ...


The coach who led Nigeria to its fourth Under-17 world soccer championship last year has been promoted.


Manu Garba will coach the Under-20 squad while former international winger Emmanuel Amuneke is the new Under-17 coach.


“We have opted for continuity because these coaches are highly experienced and qualified to continue with the progress we are making,” said Nigeria Soccer Federation technical department head Emmanuel Ikpeme. “We have had a couple of disappointing experiences in the past and it was felt that we couldn’t take the same route again.


“Manu Garba knows the boys from the Under-17s, but they are gradually moving to Europe, hence he must look inward and the federation will give him all the required support. Amuneke has transformed from a great player to one of the finest youth coaches inAfricaand we believe he deserves his Under-17 role as well.”


Ikpeme said the soccer federation hopes the appointments will lead to success, especially at the Under-20 level.


“On our part, we believe these significant coaching decisions were necessary for development,” he added.


“Despite winning the Under-17 world championship in 1985, 1993, 2007 and again last year,Nigeriahas never won an Under-20 tournament even though they appeared in 10 finals competitions.


The West Africans were the runners-up in the 1989 and 2005 Under-20 World Cup.


Meanwhile,Kenyahas been chosen to host the 2018 African Nations Cup championship.


It will become the second successive country from east and central Africa to stage the three-week championships asRwandais the 2016 hosts.


Libyawon the last competition, defeatingGhanaon penalties.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>