New women’s cricket league to begin play next week

By Admin Wednesday June 03 2015 in Sports
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading ... Loading ...


A new outdoor cricket league for women is set to kick-off on June 13.


At least four teams will compete in the Scarborough Cricket Association tournament to be played at Ashtonbee ground in Scarborough.


Teams that have committed so far are Kaisoca, Superstars and a Scarborough schools side.


“A few more teams have shown an interest and we might include an Under-13 and 16 boys’ teams,” said organizer, George Maharaja. “One of the things we are happy about is that we are able to secure a facility with adequate washrooms and change facilities for the females. That was crucial for us to move forward with this initiative.”


Indoor practice sessions are held from 3 to 5 p.m. on Sundays at Sorkram in Scarborough and outdoors on Thursdays from 6 p.m. at Ashtonbee.


The opening match will feature Superstars and Kaisoca.


Any female member of a club wishing to take part in the league can contact Maharaj at (905) 621-6157 or by e-mail at


In other cricket news, host country Thailand will join Bangladesh, Ireland, China, the Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Scotland and Zimbabwe in the International Cricket Council (ICC) Women Twenty/20 in Bangkok from November 28 to December 5.


“It will be fascinating to see how this next tier of international teams competes against one another,” said ICC women’s committee chair, Clare Connor. “This event will provide an opportunity to the Cricket Association of Thailand (CAT) to promote and market the game in its territory, an opportunity which will highlight the truly global appeal of the women’s game.


“The regional qualifying tournaments, the ICC Women’s World Twenty/20 Qualifier and the ongoing ICC Women’s Championship are all testament to the fact that women’s cricket is thriving. With two ICC Women’s World Cups, two ICC World Twenty/20s and two stand-alone ICC Women’s World Twenty/20s to take place over the next seven years, these are unprecedented times for women’s cricket in terms of volume of cricket and give us a wealth of fantastic opportunities to enhance the profile of our sport.”


The top two teams will join reigning champion Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and the West Indies in the ICC World Twenty/20 tournament, which will be staged alongside the men’s event in India from March 11 to April 3, 2016.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>