Four newcomers join Canada’s cricket squad on U.S. tour

By Admin Wednesday October 10 2012 in Sports
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading ... Loading ...


Four newcomers are in the national 25-member winter training squad for upcoming tournaments in the United States and the Caribbean.


Canada will travel to Florida next month to take part in the annual two-day Auty Cup tournament against the Americans. The neighbours will also play a 50-overs and a Twenty/20 contest at Central Broward Regional Park in Lauderhill.


The national side will take part in next year’s Caribbean Twenty/20 series in St. Lucia and Trinidad & Tobago.


The new players in the training squad are Centurions wicketkeeper/batsman Srimantha Wijeyratne, Guyanese-born Montreal-based left-arm medium pacer Suresh Ramkissoon and youth players Nikhil Dutta and Rayyan Pathan.


The other members of the squad are Maninder Aulakh, Trevin Bastiampillai, Rustam Bhatti, Rizwan Cheema, Khurram Chohan, Damodar Daesrath, Abzal Dean, Parth Desai, Jeremy Gordon, Ruvindu Gunasekera, Amarbir “Jimmy” Hansra, Nitish Kumar, Usman Limbada, Henry Osinde, Hiral Patel, Raza-ur-Rehman, Tyrone Roberts, Parveen Saroye, Zeeshan Siddiqui, Junaid Siddique and Hamza Tariq.


Medium pacer Harvir Baidwan, who last represented Canada in the International Cricket Council (ICC) World Cup Twenty/20 qualifier in Dubai last March, was not considered for selection. He returned to Canada recently after spending a few months in India with his new wife.


National high performance manager David Patterson and former Canadian captain Ingleton Liburd are currently coaching the squad four times a week at a Scarborough indoor facility. They are filling in for national coach Gus Logie who is waiting on a work permit.


And, Brampton Masters Tranzac completed an unbeaten season with a victory over Centurions in the Toronto & District Cricket Association Elite Division final last Saturday at King City.


Brampton Masters disposed of Vikings while Centurions defeated Toronto Cricket Club in the semi-finals.


The Ontario Cricket Academy and Parkdale Cricket Club clinched the premier and first division titles respectively.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>