Draws finalized for African soccer tournaments

By Admin Wednesday December 31 2014 in Sports
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading ... Loading ...


 The draws for next year’s African Under-17 and Under-20 soccer championships were made in Cairo, Egypt recently.


The Under-20 tournament takes place in Senegal from March 8-22 while the Under-17 series will be held in Niger from February 15 to March 1.


Both tournaments will serve as qualifiers for the 2015 Under-20 and 17 World Cups in New Zealand and Chile respectively, with both sets of semi-finalists earning a place at the International Soccer Federation tournaments.


In the 11th Under-17 competition, host country Niger is drawn with neighbours Nigeria, Guinea and Zambia while the other group comprises Ivory Coast, South Africa, Mali and Cameroon.


Ivory Coast meets South Africa in the opener on February 16.


In the Under-20 tournament, Senegal, Nigeria, Congo and Ivory Coast are in Group “A” while Group “B” comprises


South Africa, Zambia, Ghana and Mali.


Host country Senegal will tackle Nigeria in the opening match of the 19th biennial competition in Dakar on March 8.


Meantime, the Sierra Leone Soccer Association executive committee, headed by Isha Johansen has been dissolved. A nine-member interim body – led by Alhaji Unisa Alim Sesay, who owns a premier league club and is a veteran soccer administrator – has been set up to run the affairs of the association with immediate effect until elections are held in June 2015.


The decision to dissolve the country’s soccer federation was taken by the country’s soccer association members in an extraordinary congress. But the Johansen-led executive does not recognize the decisions taken by the members, accusing the extraordinary congress of being illegal.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>