2013 Elite Champions Centurions
2013 Elite Champions Centurions

Centurions crowned new Elite champions

By Admin Wednesday October 09 2013 in Sports
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading ... Loading ...


Centurions defended a very low score of 150 to defeat the defending champions Brampton Master’s by 20 runs and win their first ever ‘Elite’ title last Saturday at King City.


The game started late due to wet ground and pitch conditions and was reduced to a 40-over per side game.


Centurions won the toss and elected to bat, managing 150 for 9 in 40 overs. Dhanuka Pathirana with 58 runs, Srimantha Wijeyeratne, 28 and Sanjayan Thuraisingham, 29 n.o. batted cautiously, putting on 43 runs for the eighth wicket with Pathirana.


Earlier on, Pathirana and Wijeyeratne played well, adding on 44 runs for the third wicket, but Wijeyeratne was bowled round his leg by Absal Dean when the score was 78.


A turning point for Centurions was caused by Hiral Patel, who claimed three wickets in his sixth over to send the opponents reeling at 97/7.


Great teamwork by Pathirana and Thuraisingham brought some respectability to the score. Patel ended up with 4 for 19 in his allotted eight overs.


The runs chase was started by Brampton Master’s after lunch, but Jade Padmore struck twice and Thuraisingham struck in his first ball, putting Master’s in dire straits, with the score 57/4.


This was followed by a partnership of 44 runs between Limbada and Kamaleen for the sixth wicket, but Limbada was brilliantly caught at slips by Thuraisingham off the bowling of Parth Desai.


Another change of bowling with Ajanthan Vijayakumar removing Kamaleen, Daesrath and Woolcock in quick session put Master’s in further trouble.


Padmore sealed off the victory by trapping Jeremy Gordon, kicking off a celebration for the hundreds of Centurions supporters in attendance.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>