Barbados PM selects new cabinet

By Admin Wednesday March 06 2013 in Caribbean
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1)
Loading ... Loading ...


BRIDGETOWN: Prime Minister Freundel Stuart has announced the composition of his cabinet, which he said was chosen in pursuit of his commitment to maintaining the highest standards of leadership.


As a result, former Commerce and Trade Minister, Haynesley Benn, has been removed from his position. John Boyce, who was previously in charge of the Ministry of Transportation, is now the Minister of Health. Former Housing Minister, Michael Lashley, takes over Transport and Works.


Former Health Minister, Donville Inniss, is now the Minister of Industry, International Business, Commerce and Small Business Development. Denis Kellman, who formerly was in charge of the Ministry of Small Business is now the Minister of Housing, Lands and Rural Development.


Christopher Sinckler remains Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs and Dr. David Estwick has retained his position as Minister of Agriculture, Food, Fisheries and Water Resource Management.


Ronald Jones has maintained his position as Minister of Education; Richard Sealy as Minister of Tourism with the added portfolio of International Transport; Steve Blackett as Minister of Social Care; Dr. Denis Lowe as Minister of the Environment and Drainage; Adriel Brathwaite as Attorney General and Stephen Lashley as Minister of Culture, Sports and Youth.


Yesterday, the new Parliament met for the first time and Governor General Sir Elliott Belgrave delivered the traditional Throne Speech, outlining the government’s policies and programs for the next five years.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>