Qualifying tournament for non-Test cricket teams



Canada and the other non-Test playing cricket nations will participate in an additional qualifying tournament to determine the four teams that will join the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) 10 Full Members in the 2015 World Cup.

A total of eight teams will compete in a 50-overs league with the top two qualifying for the next World Cup in Australia. The eight participants will include the top two sides from the World Cricket League (WCL) Division Two as well.

The six non-qualifiers from the league will be joined by the third and fourth sides from the WCL Division Two for another qualifying series to determine the final two World Cup entrants. The venue and date for the qualifiers will be released shortly.

“This will provide exciting context for the new 50-overs league with every one of the Associate and Affiliate teams able to make their way from Division Eight of the World Cricket League all the way to the ICC World Cup finals,” said ICC chief executive Haroon Lorgat.

Under pressure to renege on an earlier decision to shut out Associates and Affiliates, the ICC at its annual conference in Hong Kong last June reversed its decision to exclude Associates from the 2015 World Cup.


Meanwhile, former Antigua & Barbuda and West Indies cricketer Curtly Ambrose was last Monday inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame.

The 6′ 7″ fast bowler picked up 405 wickets (av. 20.99) in 98 Tests and 225 wickets (av. 24.12) in 176 One-Day Internationals in a 12-year career that ended in 2000.

He said he was happy and humbled to be joining the game’s elite in the prestigious Hall of Fame.

“I never thought this day would come,” said Ambrose who celebrates his 48th birthday next Wednesday. “This only tells me that all the hard work I put in throughout my career did not go unnoticed. I see this also as a just reward for all the joy and happiness that I may have brought to cricket and cricketers alike.

“There have been so many wonderful times throughout my career…It was so wonderful I would not trade it for the world. The only disappointment probably was not winning the World Cup. But outside of that, I have had a wonderful career…I just want history to remember me as someone who gave his all for West Indies and for any team that I played for, as a professional who played fair and above all as a great fast bowler.”

All-rounder Alan Davidson, former women’s captain Belinda Clark and late medium-pacer Fred Spofforth – all Australian – were also inducted.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>