Canada’s Under-19 cricketers will miss World Cup



Victories over the top two teams in the International Cricket Council (ICC) Under-19 World Cup qualifier in Ireland were not enough for Canada to advance to next year’s tournament in Australia.

The Canucks defeated Scotland by six runs and Nepal by three wickets with 10 balls to spare, but lost to Kenya which finished second to last with just two wins in the 10-team qualifier.

It was the Scots only loss while Nepal dropped just two matches.

“Looking back, losing to the Kenyans which was one of the weaker teams in a game that we were in a position to win really hurt us,” said co-coach Wilbert Plummer.

Canada lost its last nine wickets for 88 runs in pursuit of the East Africans total of 215.

“Overall, our batting was not deep and consistent and we paid a heavy price for that,” Plummer said.

Canada posted a tournament-low 37 off 25 overs to fall to the Irish by five wickets and 71 in 32.2 overs against Afghanistan in an eight-wicket loss that eliminated the Canucks.

Sandwiched between the crushing losses was a four-wicket defeat with two balls remaining against Papua New Guinea. Nitish Kumar’s 126-ball innings of 150, that included three sixes and 14 boundaries, was bettered by the tournament’s top run producer Chris Kent’s unbeaten 166.

Fast bowler Manny Aulakh was the competition’s leading wicket-taker with 21 (av. 13.14), including 6-32 off 10 overs in a five-wicket win over the United States while Kumar, who represented Canada at the senior World Cup earlier this year, was the fourth leading run scorer with 370 (av. 46.25)

Scotland, Nepal, Ireland, Afghanistan, Papua New Guinea and Namibia will join the 10 Test-playing nations in next year’s junior World Cup.

The USA, Vanuatu and Kenya joined Canada as the four bottom teams failing to qualify. Canada, the USA and Namibia finished with four wins and five losses, but the southern African country advanced by virtue of a better run rate.

Queensland will host next year’s tournament.

Group “A” comprises defending champions Australia, England, Nepal and Ireland while the Group “B” contestants are Pakistan, New Zealand, Scotland and Afghanistan. West Indies, India, Zimbabwe and Papua New Guinea are in Group “C” while the Group “D” teams are Sri Lanka, South Africa, Bangladesh and Namibia.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>