Masters finally wins elite cricket title


The Brampton Masters cricket team is now in possession of the crown that has eluded them the past two seasons.

The losing finalist in the Toronto & District Cricket Association (TDCA) Elite cricket division launched three years ago scored an exciting, but controversial one-run win over Vikings last Sunday at King City.

Needing four for victory off the last ball, Vikings appeared to have posted three runs which would have tied the scores. One of the runs was however taken away on a short run.

The game would have been replayed if it had ended in a tie.

Amid the Brampton Masters celebration, Henry Osinde reflected on how close his team – which lost one game during the season -had come to losing three straight finals.

“We would have been deemed chokers and the team that could not win the big one,” said the Ugandan-born medium fast bowler. “Regardless of how good we were during the regular season, it was important for us to win the big game today. For me, it would have been a lost season if we did not come out on top.”

Left-handed batsman Krishna Deosaran (67), batting with a runner, and Ramnarine Chattergoon (49) were associated in a century fifth-wicket stand that put Vikings in a strong position to challenge Brampton Masters’ total of 220-9 off 50 overs.

Once they were separated, Brampton Masters regained their composure and held on for the thrilling win which was their first major TDCA title since they crushed Toronto Cricket Club by 164 runs in the 2007 Premier division championship game.

With former West Indies leg-spinner Mahendra Nagamootoo in its line up, Brampton Masters was unbeaten in the last three months after losing its only game this season to Toronto Cricket Club in mid-June.

The 34-year-old leg spinner, who represented the West Indies in five Tests and 24 One-Day Internationals, played one match for Cavaliers in May before joining Brampton Masters.

Victoria Park, meanwhile, captured its first Premier division title in 11 years, disposing of PCB Stallions by two wickets with two balls to spare last Sunday.

Skipper Nicholas Ifill with 44 and Devang Patel who scored an unbeaten 39 and Hassan Zaidi with 39, helped Victoria Park overcome the Stallions total of 196 scored in 49.1 overs.

National left-arm spinner Parth Desai was both economical and productive, claiming 3-12 off 8.1 overs while medium pacer Kevin Murray clinched 3-58 for Victoria Park which moves up to the Elite division next season.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>