Walsh to assist Canadian bowlers on Jamaican tour


Canada’s medium pacers will get a few tips from one of the great fast bowlers during their participation in the Jamaica Cricket Festival.

Courtney Walsh, who took 519 wickets (av. 24.44) in 132 Tests, will be in attendance at Canada’s four matches and he will work out with the medium pacers during training sessions.

“We contacted Courtney after national coach Pubudu Dassanayake said he needed some help for our quick bowlers,” said Cricket Canada’s Development Manager Ingleton Liburd. “When you look at his track record, we have one of the best in the business passing on knowledge to some of our players. It’s great and I hope they will benefit from the experience.”

Canada plays its first match today against Jamaica in a 50-overs contest at the Kaiser Bauxite ground. The national side will oppose the West Indies in a Twenty/20 match on Saturday and Jamaica in a Twenty/20 game on April 11 at Trelawny Stadium before finishing the tour against the West Indies in a One-Day International on April 13 at Sabina Park.

Overseas-based players John Davison, Geoff Barnett and Ian Billcliff are unavailable for the series.

“We are a bit short of batting with these players out and that’s one of the reasons why Zubin Surkari has been recalled,” said manager Mike Henry. “He has got some experience and we are hoping that he can produce for us coming in at either number four or five. Overall, we have a young team and this is an opportunity for these players to show their mettle at the game’s highest level.”

The full touring party is Ashish Bagai (capt.), Rizwan Cheema (vice-captain), Henry Osinde, Trevin Bastiampillai, Hiral Patel, Nitesh Kumar, Usman Limbada, Jawad Dawood, Sunil Dhaniram, Khurram Chohan, Umar Bhatti, Harvir Baidwan, Parth Desai and Zubin Surkari.

Canada last toured Jamaica in 2003 for the West Indies one-day tournament.

Meanwhile, the Toronto & District Cricket Association (TDCA) held its annual general meeting last week.

The 12 member board of governors comprises Mohan Chandramohan, Mohammed Shaikh, Tapinder Singh, Thiru Suseenthiran, Moe Pirzada, Rashid Ehsan, Moin Parekh, Ragoobir Henry, Johnny Bujan, Richard Ramlall, Bobby Rampersad and Vijay Senathirajah.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>