ICC’s Vieira looking to fill three positions


The past few months have been demanding for International Cricket Council (ICC) Americas Regional Manager, Martin Vieira.

His office has switched locations and he’s in the process of hiring for three positions, one of them twice in the past four months.

Canadian-born Natasha Walcott, who was appointed the Americas first Regional Project Officer last October, is leaving at the end of the month to return to the federal government, where she worked for eight years with the Canada Border Services Agency.

She was appointed to work closely with Vieira to plan and develop projects to promote and enhance the sport in the region as part of the governing body’s overall strategy to develop cricket into a global game by attracting new members.

A replacement is also being sought for Grant Dugmore who vacated his position as the ICC Americas Regional Development Officer for the past six years to become Cricket Argentina’s Chief Executive Officer.

The South African-born Dugmore played for Eastern Province as a right-handed batsman and wicketkeeper before moving to Argentina.

Vieira is also interviewing applicants to fill the newly created role of ICC Regional Member Support and Compliance Officer (Americas) to support the ICC members and oversee the compliance of the ICC’s Developing Cricket World Funding Policy and other development policies and regulations as set out by the global ICC Development department and/or the ICC Americas office.

The successful candidate is expected to, among other things, co-ordinate the ICC’s annual research collection process across the Associate and Affiliate member countries in the Americas, ensure that all Associate and Affiliate membership applications meet the required criteria and assist members with random testing of players’ eligibility.

The winning applicant will report directly to the Development Compliance Manager at the ICC headquarters in Dubai.

All of the positions are expected to be filled shortly.

■ The second bi-annual Americas Women cricket championship takes place in Florida, starting May 17. The contestants are defending champions Canada, which won the inaugural tournament played at Maple Leaf ground in King City in the summer of 2007, Argentina, Brazil, Bermuda, the United States and Trinidad & Tobago.

The winner will represent the region in the next Women’s World Cup qualifier in 2011 at a venue to be named later.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>