Antigua prepares to fight Stanford investors

ST. JOHN’S, Antigua & Barbuda: The Antigua and Barbuda government has announced that it is building a defense against a lawsuit brought by the Stanford Victims Coalition (SVC), which is seeking to recover financial losses as a result of the fall of Allen Stanford’s empire.

Attorney General Justin Simon says the administration has instructed its lawyers from the United States, who recently visited the island.

The SVC alleges that government has benefited from Stanford’s investments and, on that basis, should compensate the members for their losses.

“Government is looking at whether that action is sustainable against a sovereign state and the whole issue as to whether or not there was a commercial enterprise in which the government participated with Stanford would first of all have to be established,” a statement from the government said.

Simon noted there were few actual engagements between Stanford and the United Progressive Party (UPP) administration and expressed hope that the lawsuit would be dismissed as a result of information provided to the lawyers.

The Stanford investors want US$24 billion in compensation – three times the amount the businessman is alleged to have defrauded customers.

They have also filed another lawsuit, in which the Eastern Caribbean Central Bank (ECCB) is also named, accusing the regional institution of unlawfully seizing Stanford’s Bank of Antigua (BOA) after news of his charges caused a run on the bank and threatened its stability.

The Attorney General says no papers have been served in relation to that matter.

BOA officially became the Eastern Caribbean Amalgamated Bank (ECAB) on Monday, owned by the government of Antigua and Barbuda and five of the largest Eastern Caribbean banks – Antigua Commercial Bank (ACB), St Kitts-Nevis-Anguilla National Bank Ltd, Eastern Caribbean Financial Holdings Company Ltd, National Commercial Bank (SVG) Ltd. and National Bank of Dominica Ltd.

Antigua and Barbuda has 40 per cent interest in ECAB – 25 per cent belonging to government and the remaining 15 per cent allocated to ACB – while each of the other four banks have 15 per cent share.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>