Jamaican among new TIFF board members



Jamaican-born entrepreneur, Wayne Purboo, is one of four new members elected to the Toronto International Film Festival’s (TIFF) board of directors.

Purboo, who came to Canada with his family when he was just two years old, is the president and chief executive officer of QuickPlay Media which he co-founded seven years ago. The company provides managed solutions for the distribution of premium video to IP-connected devices.

QuickPlay’s Open Video Platform powers premium video services for industry leaders, including AT & T, Bell Mobility, RIM, Rogers Wireless, Sirius XM Radio, TVB and Sony Pictures. The Toronto-based company employs 140 and its 2010 revenues totalled nearly $10 million.

Named one of Canada’s Top-40 Under-40 leaders in 2007, Purboo holds a Bachelor of Computer Sciences degree from McMaster University. Prior to founding QuickPlay, he was chief technology officer for Solect Technology Group which was acquired by Amdocs. The new company hired him as vice-president of strategy.

The father of three sits on the advisory board of Virgin Unite which is developing new approaches to social and environmental issues and he’s active on the boards of GlassBox, Mashup Arts and Cellwand.

TIFF board of directors chair, Paul Atkinson, welcomed Purboo and the other members.

“We are delighted to welcome four dynamic and professional individuals to our board of directors,” he said. “Each of our new directors brings a unique and diverse perspective that will be a huge asset to our board as we begin our second year as a fully integrated, year-round organization dedicated to excellence in film.”

The other new board directors are Ontario Lottery and Gaming Corporation president and chief executive officer Rod Phillips, Milo-FAIS chief executive officer Geetu Pathak and Chetan Mathur who founded Next Pathway.

The outgoing directors are Dan Tanenbaum, Ralph Lean, Helen Burstyn and Brendan Calder.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>