Grenadians in T.O. celebrate independence


Several Grenadian nationals performing outstanding service in the Greater Toronto Area (GTA) will be recognized at the Grenada Association of Toronto annual awards gala on Saturday to mark the island’s 36th independence anniversary.

Grenada was granted independence on February 7, 1974.

Dr. Robert Ogilvie, an ear, nose and throat specialist at Humber River Regional Hospital, will be honoured for Professional Excellence and Renwick Herry, a leading exponent of Grenadian culture and the director of Drum Theatre Togetherness will be recognized for his significant contribution to the arts and culture.

Community awards will be presented to Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre nurse Theresa Moore-Vincent and Spice Island Association and Grenada Day Cultural Association president Marvis Meyers.

“These are all individuals who have provided distinguished service in their fields of endeavour,” said Grenada’s consul general Jenny Gumbs. “In some instances, they have gone beyond the call of duty and it’s for this reason that they should be highlighted and celebrated.”

The celebrations began here last Friday with the flag-raising ceremony at City Hall. Several CARICOM consul corps representatives, including Haiti’s honorary consul general Dr. Eric Pierre, attended the event.

“We each support one another’s events and it’s always gratifying when fellow CARICOM diplomats here can make the time to come out and be part of our celebration,” added Gumbs. “Having Dr. Pierre was special though because I know that he has been very busy since the earthquake.”

Grenada’s Minister of Labour Karl Hood will deliver the keynote address at the awards gala on Saturday at Spirale Banquet Hall, 888 Don Mills Road.

The theme of this year’s celebration is “Celebrating Our Nation’s Birth with Love and Togetherness.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>