AIDS research clinic awarded top global health prize

By Admin Wednesday January 08 2014 in Caribbean
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading ... Loading ...


PORT-AU-PRINCE: A clinic in Haiti that has become a leader in global health while leading the fight against HIV/AIDS has won a top global health prize.


The Haitian Group for the Study of Kaposi’s Sarcoma and Opportunistic Infections (GHESKIO) has been named a recipient of the 2013 World Health Organization’s (WHO) Stop TB Partnership Kochon Prize in Tuberculosis.


Founder Dr. Jean William Pape was informed of the honour in a letter from Partnership Executive Secretary Lucica Ditiu last month.


The annual prize is given to organizations that have made a significant contribution to combating TB.


The US$65,000 prize was designated for fighting TB in conflict and refugee areas.


“GHESKIO’s leading work in HIV and TB for the past three decades and more recently for providing treatment services for the 1.5 million people who were internally displaced by Haiti’s earthquake in 2010 were especially commended,” Ditiu said in her letter.


After Haiti’s devastating earthquake nearly four years ago, Ditiu noted that GHESKIO sent mobile teams into the newly-erected refugee camps to screen people for TB and opened a field hospital to provide care.


Ditiu said the group has continued to work with those affected by the disaster and a subsequent cholera outbreak.


The Kochon prize is funded by the Kochon Foundation, a nonprofit organization based in South Korea, with winners selected by the Stop TB Partnership, an international body that is housed at the Washington-based WHO.


Pape said the funds will help toward the construction of a TB hospital in Haiti.


The award ceremony for the Kochon Prize will take place on January 31 in Cape Town, South Africa.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>