2016 African Canadian Achievement Awards recipients named

By Admin Wednesday February 03 2016 in News
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading ... Loading ...


The Selection Committee of the African Canadian Achievement Awards of Excellence (ACAAE) has announced its 2016 award recipients.

The ACAAE was established in June, 1985. It has celebrated and paid tribute to over 350 high-achieving African Canadians and has evolved into one of the Black community’s most prestigious and distinguished honours.

The 2016 ACAAE recipients are: John Alleyne (Excellence in Arts and Entertainment), Isaac Sanya Olowafe Sr. (Excellence in Business), Ned Blair (Excellence in Community Service), Thando Hyman-Aman (Excellence in Education), Sandy Thomas (Excellence in Law), Marci Ien (Excellence in Media), Dr. Richard Dodd (Excellence in Medicine), Felicia London (Excellence in Parenting), Imam Michael Abdur Rashid Taylor (Excellence in Religion), Dr. Rosemary G. Moodie (Excellence in Science), Angela James (Excellence in Sports) and Jonathan P. Wong (Youth Achievement Award).

The lifetime achievement award will be presented to Share publisher, Arnold A. Auguste.

Hon. Robert “Bob” Keith Rae, former Premier of Ontario and former Interim Leader of the Federal Liberal Party, will receive the Founder’s Award.

The ACAA award for Excellence in Politics will be presented to Quebec politician, Emmanuel Dubourg.

The 2016 African Canadian Achievement Awards gala will be held at 7 p.m. on Saturday, February 20, at the Jane Mallett Theatre, inside the St. Lawrence Centre for the Arts, 27 Front Street East.

For more information, visit www.africancanadianachievementawards.com, email: acaa@bellnet.ca; or call 905-668-8868.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>